This is a great place to get a little sneak peek into me and my photography! WELCOME

Beautiful Belgium Wedding – Part 1 – Day Trippin’ in Brugge…

Amazing – that’s the only word for it…

While Marija, Nico and I were in my studio for their engagement proofing session, we were discussing
the details of their upcoming wedding in Belgium. They asked if I would be willing to take photos of the various
activities that they had planned for their guests during the days leading up to their June 21st wedding.
Would I be willing?!?
I couldn’t have been more thrilled that they asked me!!! – why? Because… I NOW had PERMISSION to be
as snap happy as I wanted to be AND… instead of people rolling their eyes at me about my photography ‘addiction’…
they could just smile and be happy I was documenting everything – That, my friends – is what I call a Win-Win!

Marija and Nico planned out the most amazing day trips and events for all their guest that traveled from far and wide. Nico’s family is from Ghent, Belgium and were very eager to show off their beautiful country. On our first full day we were treated to a chartered bus ride that traveled north west to the town of Brugge. On our 40 minute ride we were treated to refreshments and Belgium chocolates. Although we were going to be on a guided tour with a local tour guide, Nico spent a portion of the trip highlighting a map for each of the guests showing where we were going to start and end – in case we were separated. If I told you that EVERY DETAIL of the weeks events were perfectly executed , the word PERFECTLY would be an understatement….

NHP-9160 Our first activity was a guided river tour of Brugge. I had NO idea that there were as many waterways as there were in the areas of Belgium that we visited. On Wednesday, June 19th, it was lightly raining – which, from what I understand has about a 50/50 chance on happening on any given day. Remember when I said that EVERYTHING was perfectly executed…, here’s an example – while the guests were getting on the boat, Nico’s sister made sure that everyone who didn’t bring an umbrella had a rain poncho to help keep them dry.

NHP-9166As you can see from the scenery/weather condition’s – there was no way I could miss the opportunity to take a photo of everyone in their ponchos on the boat – so the captain graciously maneuvered the boat around so I could grab a few shots, then went back to the dock so that I could get aboard. (See…. If I DIDN’T have permission to photograph everything – I probably would have gotten at least one eye-roll for suggesting this shot. Tee hee hee).

NHP-9179Honestly, every inch we traveled on this trip was just as beautiful as the last – if not more so.

NHP-9196

NHP-9202

NHP-9226

NHP-9256After our lovely river boat ride we headed over to a little pub where… there was a catered lunch waiting for us!
(See, I told you…AMAZING)
How awesome is this sandwich presentation?!?!

NHP-9262Oh…. and of course, along with being known for their waffles, and chocolate, you may have heard that Belgium is kinda good at brewing beer. Sooooo good in fact… that EACH brand has it’s OWN specialty glass.

NHP-9292After our yummy lunch we met our local tour guide and headed off to see the sights and learn about the history of Brugge. While on our way… this interesting fellow gave us quite a show (and some of us, a scare…)

NHP-9367

NHP-9368

NHP-9376

Although I was trying really hard to listen to what the guide was telling us, I couldn’t help but grab a few shots of all the amazing details and maaaaybe just one or two of the love birds….

NHP-9396

NHP-9397

There was so much beautiful detail in everything. For some reason, I have a love of unique doors. There were so many unusual ones and I thought these were particularly beautiful with their wood carvings.

NHP-9487NHP-9490

NHP-9407As we were continuing our tour – our guide mentioned that a sculpture by Michelangelo was on display in the “Church Of Our Lady” and asked if we would be interested in seeing it. I’m not sure how many times you have had the chance to actually see one of Michelangelo’s pieces of work in person – so…. when it’s offered – you pretty much want to jump at the chance!

NHP-9431

Here it is:  the “Madonna and Child”, taken with a 200mm zoom lens. Apparently the one like it in Rome – “The Pieta” was vandalized, and to help protect this one, visitors are kept a fair distance away from it, and it also has a large piece of bullet proof glass in front of it.

NHP-9498
Here is a wider shot of the statues

NHP-9500

and of course stunning stained glass. I’m trying to keep this short and sweet – and I didn’t know if the image of a crypt would freak anyone out – so I’m not posting it here. But it does have a very touching story to go with it. So if anyone in interested in seeing the images and hearing the story behind it, just let me know and I’ll be happy to fill you in.

NHP-9547
Ready for a little ‘foreshadowing….’ Remember, the brides name is Marija (pronounced Maria).
Pay close attention to what she is pointing to…Now, you are going to have to be patient and wait until Thursday to find out why this is a meaningful image.

NHP-9561
This is the “Lake of Love”. No, I’m not making that up -our guide told us that if you and your love kiss on the bridge, you will be in love forever.

NHP-9605Looks like they are good to go…

NHP-9608

And just to make sure the fire of luuuv keeps burning. Marija’s parents took advantage of lore of the “Lake of Love”

NHP-9611
Yup! Caught you! XOXO

NHP-9612

Thanks for reading, stay tuned tomorrow for the sights of Ghent and Marija and Nico’s rehearsal dinner (plus a surprise)

2 responses

  1. Irma C

    Wonderful!!!!

    August 12, 2013 at 1:52 pm

  2. Oh that statue looks SCARY!!!

    August 12, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Leave a comment