This is a great place to get a little sneak peek into me and my photography! WELCOME

SCARY questions and a beautiful wedding…

Quick post for today… I just HAD to share some images from a wedding I had the honor of shooting with the UBER FAB: Kristen Karkoska of Blue Sky’s Studio!   I met Kristen during a photography seminar taught by one of my mentors Sal Cincotta.   Annnnnddd… I met Sal when I went to the WPPI (Wedding Portrait Professionals International) in Vegas last year after hearing about his seminar from my roommate Lori Biers (who yes – I had JUST met for the FIRST TIME when she came to my door on our way out to Vegas) I’m still trying to figure out how we connected in the first place – I THINK it was through a contact of Amanda Patrice the amaze-balls (Yes I did just quote Juiliana Rancic) photographer who actually showed me what all those dials and buttons were for on my camera (and – also a mentor of mine – although, I’m not sure she knows that – but she is – and she does now – HOLLA AMANDA!!! YOU ARE THE BEST! – SO GIVING AND SO KIND!!! LOVE YOU!!!). But I regress…

Well…. maybe not. I guess one of the points of this post (other than showing off the killer shots from the wedding) is to ALWAYS remain open to learn new things and DON’T be afraid to ask questions… I had a close family friend ask me “Why do you still take classes on photography – is there STILL stuff you don’t know?” ummmmm that is a big ‘ole YES!!! There is SO MUCH MORE to ‘taking a picture’ than holding the camera up to your eye and pushing a button. I feel like the more I learn the MORE  that there is STILL LEFT TO LEARN. Next week is the 2012 WPPI conference and holy frijolies am I FLIPPIN’ EXCITED to be going!!! I can’t wait to see what I will learn next!  If you are a budding professional photographer you OWE it to yourself to go to this. Here is the link if you want to know more WPPI.  (No I don’t get anything to getting people to go – and if you are interested I have one discount ticket left so hit me up).

So anyway… if you want to learn more about something – just ask. It’s as simple and as SCARY as that. A quick back story – I was at one of Sal’s workshops and I was SoooOoooOoooo FRUSTRATED that I just couldn’t get my images to come out like his.  I felt like I was SURROUNDED by other ‘professional photographers’ who would “forget more than I would ever know” about photography – and was SCARED – no – TERRIFIED to ask my question – one that I thought was SO ELEMENTARY to the other photographers.

I had a choice.

I could choose A) not to be embarrassed and not ask my question and keep taking the same crappy picture over an over again. OR B) I could suck it up, and ask Sal what I was doing wrong – risking looking like a complete idiot – but… there was also a chance that I might actually LEARN something and better myself. So I chose to suck it up. I pulled him away from the group and asked him – in a very hushed voice – “What am I doing wrong?” and showed him my camera. He  said to me “I’m about to rock your world” LOL! I will NEVER forget that! ROTF! I had NO idea what was about to happen – but I was all in! LOL! He then stood behind me – put the camera up to my eye and started fiddling with the different dials and buttons and WAH-La! MAGIC!  *Insert sound of angels singing here*. That ONE QUESTION that I CHOSE TO ASK – single-handily CHANGED the way I photographed from that day forward.

Which FINALLY brings us to the images for this post. Again – I asked a question. I called my friend Kristin and expressed to her I was feeling a little ‘stuck’ with my posing. I wasn’t feeling overly inspired and felt like I was doing the same poses over and over again. It was 100% perfectly fine with my clients because it was THEIR first time doing the poses but I wanted – no – needed to get inspired again. I gave Kristin a quick call and told her how I was feeling and asked if she would mind if I tagged along with her on any of her upcoming shoots. She called me back with a wedding that she had booked and extended the third shooter invitation to me. I EAGERLY accepted and went down to San Juan Capistrano.  Following are some of the images I captured from the day. THANK YOU KRISTIN for extending this opportunity to me. I learned TONS and will be forever grateful – I hope you were able to use some of the images I captured – I mean there HAD to be SOMETHING on those 5 DVD’s of images! LOL! Lots of love and can’t wait to hang out with you at WPPI!
With much love and gratitude
Nicki

OK FIRST of all I have to tell you that I LOVE FIRST LOOKS!!!!
Some couples opt to see each other for the first time BEFORE the actual wedding. IT IS SO AWESOME! I COMPLETELY understand that is goes ‘against tradition’ – and that may freak brides out at first…
BUT… Take a look at the following two images. The bride and groom get to have a moment of privacy (minus the photographers). They get to enjoy the moment TOGETHER ALONE. They may choose to hug, kiss or just stare at each other. The choice is theirs without ANY pressure they may feel from family or friends.

What usually happens is that the bride taps the groom on the shoulder – but in this case Joe just couldn’t stand it one second longer and turned around a little early!
LOVE IT!

After the couple has enjoyed their moment together we have the opportunity to shoot some of the ‘formals’ BEFORE the wedding.
This is a WIN – WIN because everyone’s hair is still perfect and again – no pressure from family and friends – and it gives the couple a little more time in between the wedding and reception.

HOW gorgeous is this walkway?

Arches – YES PLEASE!!!

This is what I’m going to call the ‘fun bride shot’

Hey doorway – you sure make this bride extra awesome!

Here is PROOF that the First Look takes NOTHING away from the grooms reaction to seeing his bride walk down the isle…

I ADORE the little flower girl in the background gazing at the bride and groom.

And I end with the grand exit!

Thanks again Kristin! XOXOX!!!

One response

  1. awesome photos girl!!! love these!

    February 14, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Leave a comment