This is a great place to get a little sneak peek into me and my photography! WELCOME

Out takes, Foley artists, and shiny things….

Hey There! Thanks for taking moment to peek at and maybe even read my post! 🙂

Blogging …. yeah… this is something new to me… LOL!  I admire people who are able to blog and write so freely – I’m SO NOT that person. BUT I do want to be able to share a little more about the sessions that I photograph, so I’m going to take a stab at it. Yes – a photo is worth a thousand words but wouldn’t it be fun to learn a little something about the family I’m photographing? What makes them – THEM? Well… even if you don’t think it’s interesting, I do –  and this is my blog so nee-ner, nee-ner. 🙂  If you’re ready – then hang on for the ride and let’s see what happens!  If you are… GAME ON! If not – we’ll miss you terribly.  buh-bye…

Soooo my first blog post is going to be a little different then the ones I plan on writing about in the future. This one is going to be a ‘behind the scenes’ type of post.  (ohhhhhhh. – Right?!?! I KNOW!) I have ALWAYS found the ‘behind the scenes or secret stuff’ WAY fascinating – Side note: I LOVE the TV shows How it’s made, Oprah’s behind the scenes, and I especially love the Universal Studios  back-lot tour (Or ANY movie/TV studio tour where you get to see the set creators doing their ‘thang) ohhh ohhhh HOW about the Foley Artists?!?!? HOLY SMOKES those people amaze me! LOL! I mean –  REALLY?!?!- WHO would have through to use wooden blocks on a table to make the sound of hoofprints? (Tracks? – What’s the word that goes here?  – guess it should be  ‘the sound of a horse walking’? – I dunno – but you get the point)  If you haven’t figured out by now I can get all “oh Shiny thing on ya” and loose track of where I was – so back to the reason for this post… The ‘BEHIND the scenes ‘or ‘out takes’ (cuz that’s my favorite part of DVD’s) of a few session from last year… AND THE REAL REAL reason for me posting these (with the blessing of  the families involved of course) is to give you a sneak peek as to how I like to work. I take my photography VERY SERIOUSLY but I’m NOT a – staunch – stiff – stuffy or snotty- photographer. I LIKE to have FUN and I want my clients to have fun while working with me.  So if that means that….. on OCCASION – I MAY (or may not) say something Quote – un-quote – inappropriate , or use potty humor with the kids, or…. hmm maybe I should just stop there. Point is – My goal is for you to have fun during your session. And her is what I mean….

Enter Paul… To know Paul – is to love Paul. On OCCASION adults GROWN-UPS, have a difficult time being serious when it is their turn in front of my camera. These people are very easy to spot… I usually take a deep breath and say ‘goooo ahead – let it rip!” They make faces like this, we laugh, they relax and SNAP! I get a killer shot! It’s kinda like magic.

oh. and this is Mark…. He’s kinda like Jim Carey – wait for it…..

aaaaand we’re done !

Sometimes I’m not as funny or interesting as I think I am…..

See…. apparently ALL my jokes aren’t THAT funny…..

and sometimes maybe I’m not as entertaining as I think I am….

or as fascinating…

But sometimes I AM! Yes – I DID just say: “say booger!”

I just KNOW he’s thinkin’…”You take one more picture and I oughtta…..”

Sometimes the ‘tweens/teens’ are the hardest to pull out of their shell… It’s ok. I know-they think that this is ‘soooooooo Stuuuuuupid’ – and that’s cool –  BUT ya know – it’s for mom, and you know what they say “If mama ain’t happy – ain’t nobody happy” Sometimes it’s easier to ‘just give in’. Soon they realize that the shoot isn’t going to be as painful as they expected – they relax – then really start muggin’ for my camera… Case in point…

I may have mentioned previously that I may crack a joke or two or soooomething….

Now I’m starting to wonder what the heck I said! LOL!

And last – but not at all least… Boogers . They  are just plain funny!

and occasionally I ‘catch’ a sneeze – and that’s pretty funny too.

Hope you got a little chuckle  – but more importantly a little sneak peek at how I like to work so that we all enjoy your session!
Thanks for looking/reading and if you liked what you saw.. please show me a little love will ya? Thanks!
XOXO Nicki

6 responses

  1. Kati

    Love blogs and blogging and this post was hilarious! Love it! 🙂

    January 17, 2012 at 4:50 pm

  2. Corey

    A sneak peak into Nicki’s work and brain. Hmmmm not sure I really want to look. Do I want to know where the brilliance comes from?…boogers! What do they say? Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain. With that said…great job Nick. As usual your brilliance shines in everything you touch. More more. I wanna see and read more.

    January 17, 2012 at 5:42 pm

  3. terrie

    Love it….definitely made me smile :0)

    January 17, 2012 at 7:59 pm

  4. Ha! I love it! SO cute and funny! I always seem to run out of funny things to say and end up with my kids all time go to laugh favorite, ‘butt, butt, fart!” LOL! I think my only complaint about the blog is that the white type on black background makes my eyes hurt, otherwise looks great! 😀

    January 18, 2012 at 12:37 am

  5. CoCo

    Luv it & its all so true! You have a gift and I am glad to see you share it with so many of us! Please keep doing what you do best and continue to amaze us all!

    January 18, 2012 at 2:44 am

  6. This is awesome work Nicki! Congrats on the new blog site!!! 🙂

    January 18, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Leave a comment